Shelly Terrell

She’s virtually (pun intended) ;-) no stranger to anyone who is likely to be here, so she doesn’t need any introduction. I’ve patted on my own back several times for having succeeded in getting her to agree to do this interview, and dare I say how?

Well… I tempted her with a case of diet coke, and it was just an offer she couldn’t refuse…

Bio

Since 2004, I have taught beginner, intermediate, and advanced English Language Learners of various ages, cultures, and backgrounds in Germany, America, and Greece. I started teaching college students and high school students for the University of Incarnate Word in Texas. Recently, I taught English to children, teens, and adult students in Germany and worked as an online technology and English instructor. Since 1994, I have worked in the US K-12 education system. My areas include working with low income students, learners with special needs, English language learners, and learners in juvenile facilities/ alternative schools. I have my Bachelors in English with a Minor in Communication with a Specialization in Electronic Media, my Master of Arts in Education with a Specialization in Curriculum and Instruction for English as a Second Language, and my CELTA. Since 2000, I have also worked as a freelance web designer, content writer, and editor.

Read all about Shelly in Google Plus. You can find all her links there.

Shelly Terrell on iasku, Chiew's Interview Blog

Technical information:

Interview recorded on Mac webcam (with Photo Booth) and Acer Crystal Eye webcam.

Editing done on Quicktime Pro 7.6.6 (1671), MPEG Streamclip 1.2, and Windows Live Movie Maker. Thanks to Brad Patterson for trying to help.

 

       

About Chiew

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.

Posted on 19 July 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Well, I will confess to a “subtle nudge” to leave a comment, so here it is :-)

    I really enjoyed the interview with Shelly, as it helped me learn a little more about where she comes from, and what makes her ‘tick’. I thought “the lady who never sleeps” was quite a quotable (and apt) quote, and I’d like to remind Shelly of the beautiful beaches near where I live … hint, hint, …

    Regards from @mgraffin in Western Australia.

  2. Great interview Shelly and Chiew.

  3. well, a familiar voice from webinars and not only :-)
    as I said …”miss collaboration” reveals the secret of success! your passion, Shell, is obvious! don’t know anyone else who could manage to do so many things with just a six hour sleep:)
    Chiew! I guess the secret of your successful interviews is ….passion too!
    Nora

    • Did she say 6? I thought I heard 4 ;) Yeah, passion moves mountains, but in my case, I wish I could do a fraction of what Shell does with 4 hrs of sleep; I had 5 or 6 last night, and I’m like a zombie. I’m gonna have to have a nap after lunch :( Or maybe I’m like a zombie because of the challenges I had to go through with editing Shell’s video ;)

      • Hi Nora!

        Love having you in the webinars. Thanks for watching me ramble and you caught the most important part because I believe when people live in their passion they always make a difference. Many educators do this everyday and plant seeds in their learners. Often we may not see what plants these seeds blossom into because it may be years later but I know teachers make a difference because many care and are so passionate about their profession.

        • Hi Chiew!

          Thanks for the interview and all these interviews! It’s great to learn more about your friends. And you are right I said 4 to 6 hours but often during an especially busy time like now it becomes less. I really appreciate you spreading the word about the Reform Symposium!

  4. So great to hear more about you here – I’ll definitely post this for TESL Toronto’s September event! You are truly a helpful person and very easy to see why through now through your background and education. I love that you used to spit. ;)

  5. Hi Chiew,

    Just posted a link to this on the TeachingEnglish facebook page if you’d like to check for comments.

    Please feel to post there directly whenever toy have something you’d like to share.

    Best,

    Ann

  1. Pingback: 25th Edition of EFL/ESL/ELL Blog Carnival – Here in November. « Rliberni's Blog – Radical language

  2. Pingback: Shelly Terrell | Quality Video Interviews with Teachers Who Dare to be Different! | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,786 other followers

