Janet Bianchini

Janet Bianchini on iasku

I first ‘met’ Janet during my early days of blogging, and we started communicating even more recently due to our separate projects on idioms. She was creating cartoons to teach them, while I was creating identify-and-click games. So, naturally, I was interested in getting her to join us here, and was very pleased when she accepted. However, due to our various commitments, we weren’t able to do the interview until recently.

So, here it is, in all its HD splendour – I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!
 


 


 

Bio

I have worked in the field of EFL both as a teacher and teacher trainer since 1979. I have a BA in French, and Post Graduate Certificate in Education in TEFL, and also the DELTA. I started my lifelong profession of teaching EFL in Madrid, Spain.  I’ve also worked in Fuerteventura (Canary Islands) teaching most of the population in the tiny fishing village of Gran Tarajal. I taught for a year in Dresden, former German Democratic Republic, teaching from beginner level English to top East German professors and leading  scientists  at the Technical University of Dresden. I also taught for three years in Patras, Greece

I then worked for over 20 years at the Lake School of English in Oxford and taught hundreds of students of all ages and levels.  It was while at the Lake School that I began teaching on teacher refresher courses for teachers of EFL from around the world.  I realised that I loved being with teachers, as I enjoyed the “buzz” and sharing all our experiences.

My life changed irrevocably when I left England in 2008 to move to Abruzzo, in central Italy.  After 30 years of continuous non-stop teaching (bar the usual holidays, of course) I decided to take a sabbatical and chose to do my very first online course with the Consultants-E, taking the Blogs and then the Wikis courses.  That was when the technophobe in me finally tamed my fear of all things technological and I actually began to enjoy experimenting with web 2.0 tools. The rest so they say is now virtual history.

I have presented at global e-conferences such as the Virtual Round Table, Reform Symposium and Connecting Online.  I presented face to face at TESOL Italy Rome in November 2010 and IATEFL Brighton in April this year.

I love writing my Janet’s Abruzzo Edublog.  It has revolutionised my life!!

Tech Info

Janet’s part

Camera: Sony Z – 7
Clip microphone used
Computer: Apple Mac
Editing Software: Final Cut Studio

Jan was assisted by Andy (Thanks very much, Andy!), who runs a small company called Panache Productions. Check it out!

My part

Camera: Acer Crystal Eye
Cheapo headset used

Then, I edited it all together with:

MPEG Streamclip 1.2
Windows Live Movie Maker
 
Janet Bianchini on Chiew's iasku Interview Blog

About Chiew

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.

Posted on 6 August 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hi Janet,

    Great to see you feeling comfortable and presenting online like this. I remember the first time you presented. I believe it was on WizIQ under Integrating Technology for Active Lifelong Learning (IT4ALL) and Ning. You have come a long way and you should be proud of your accomplishments. I have seen many educators get jobs and share their knowledge and after taking free online workshops on how to Moodle at IT4ALL: http://www.integrating-technology.org. It is very rewarding to see teachers become successful at integrating technology into their classes in blended and online formats. May all learners benefit and share their knowledge with others freely.

    • Hi Nellie

      How lovely to see you here! Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will certainly never forget the fantastic IT4ALL online courses I took with you on how to Moodle, and then the WikiEducator course, which was also super!! I remember developing a real passion for learning more and more about technology and how to integrate it into my classroom practice,

      The enthusiasm to learn about and then share my knowledge of new things stems from the early days of my online learning experience on your courses, and I will always be grateful for those excellent learning opportunities, which paved the way for an amazing future in technology-related teaching.

  2. Great interview Chiew – especially for me (someone who wants to eventually teach abroad) – I will def check out her blog also because I love Italy!! Thanks for sharing…Janet is lovely!

  3. Dear Janet,
    Even though I’ve “known” you for a long time, it’s only after listening to you talking about your amazing life experiences that I have the feeling that I’ve really met you. I admire you for being so brave as to live in different countries, especially in those whose language you didn’t speak before coming there. And you know, I’ve always wanted to live in different countries, but have never plucked up the courage to do so. Also, I didn’t know that you speak so many languages! That’s fantastic!

    Chiew, thank you for this wonderful interview with Janet:-)
    all the best
    arjana

    • Thanks for the comment Arjana 🙂 Shame you’d never picked up the courage, but it’s never to late! Perhaps when your kids are a bit older…

    • Hi Arjana

      Thanks so much for your kind words! Yes, I did travel quite a bit before I settled down in Oxford. Learning languages when I was younger was a great passion of mine. Teaching English in different countries opened up an avenue for learning new languages and I really enjoyed that.

      It’s never too late to live in a different country, and I am sure that one day you will get the chance to spend a longer period of time in one of your favourite countries. I know how much you love to travel, and I learned so much more about you in your IASKU interview, which I
      really enjoyed viewing 🙂

  4. Hi Chiew

    Thank you so much for this fantastic opportunity to share my views on teaching and life in general with you and your readers. You have done a fabulous job of putting it all together! It was a huge honour and thrill for me to be a part of your inspiring IASKU interviews. I feel very proud to be included amongst other amazing educators that I admire so much and it’s been a lovely experience for me. I really liked your personalised questions as they made me think a lot.

    I wonder who is going to be next? I very much look forward to your future interviews 🙂 It’s a great format, and I love the way they are arranged.

    PS I’ve just come back after being offline for over a week, hence the delay in my replies. This interview post was a fab one to be greeted with!

  5. After reading about your experiences, I can’t help but wonder why more people don’t take the opportunity to get a TESOL certificate and teach English overseas.

  1. Pingback: Janet Bianchini | Quality Video Interviews with Teachers Who Dare to be Different! | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

