Vicky Loras

Whoop, whoop, whoop! I’ve finally managed to tear the Whooping, Yipping & Yaying Twitter Girl from her screens and her family, and to stay still for 15 minutes while I probed her brains and her heart. At the same time, without moving from our chairs, we travelled from Toronto to Ioannina, and onto Zug; we zipped in and out of seasons, we went up the mountains, and down to the lakes, but, still, we found some time to touch upon what’s near to our hearts: education.

Bio

My name is Vicky Loras and I am an English Teacher, born in Toronto, Canada. For ten years, my sisters (Eugenia and Christine) and I owned an English School in Greece, The Loras English Academy, but I have now moved with my eldest sister to Switzerland,  where I continue to work as an English teacher. This year I teach mainly Business English to adults and I love it!

I believe in teaching as an ongoing learning process, both for the benefit of the students and the teacher. For that reason I love attending workshops and conferences! I feel so motivated and inspired by them.


 

     Vicky’s blog: http://vickyloras.wordpress.com/

     Vicky’s Twitter handle: @vickyloras

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

     For the geeks

 

     I had to tinker around with the following:

 

     Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62
     Quicktime Pro V7.7 (1680.34)
     MPEG Streamclip 1.2
     Audacity 1.3 Beta
     Windows Live Movie Maker

 
        Spanish customers click here, please
 

Theme song “Excuse Me, Mister” performed by John Martyn on The Church With One Bell

About Chiew

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.

Posted on 23 October 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Hi Chiew!

    First of all, I would like to say a big big thank you once more – thank you for having me on the blog, thank you for your beautiful wishes at the end, for helping me whenever I have (mainly tech – ha ha!) problems and for being the great person you are. Our guardian angel, as Shelly called you!

    I loved doing the interview so much! A great experience and lovely questions.

    Sending you a big thank you hug,
    Vicky

  2. Pleasure was all mine! If you loved it so much, we’ll get together again and do Part 2! 😉

  3. Thanks for a great interview – it’s always great to hear Vicky 🙂
    As for the technique – have you tried Vodburner ? Marissa recommends it, see her interview with Ken Wilson on ELTchat.
    http://eltchat.com/?s=Ken+Wilson
    Amitiés .. et à bientôt à Paris Vicky
    ElizabethA

  4. Whoop whoop! Yay, I would love to!!!! Thank you Chiew : )))

  5. I’m a big fan of the whoop whoopin Vicky Loras. So happy to finally meet her in November. Enjoyed hearing a bit more about her setting and her path. The hot seat is actually a fine place to sit indeed !

  6. Ah, Vicky, while listening to you I could just imagine you leaving a little house nestled in a Swiss valley (with flowers in the windows and those chickens you mentioned) and greeting the students you meet on the path to your lang. school with the famous Vicky whoop, echoing throughout the valley!
    May you always continue to enjoy your work and the arts!

    Another great interview, Chiew!

  7. Finally watch this lovely piece.
    Chiew you sure are the /Man! ^^
    Vicky, woah! you really rock sis!
    All the best to both of you

  8. This interview has just made my day!=)
    amazing people you both are, very special, Chiew – thanks for what you’re doing and sharing!!
    and Whoopy Vickberg (c), i can’t wait to meet you!=) you have a fascinating story, so many things accomplished, so many more ahead!! by all means, have the small house with chickens and a dog asap!!

    Hugs!
    Ann

  1. Pingback: Dale Coulter: The Dogme Generation « iasku

Leave a Reply

