Ceri Jones: A Brief Sojourn

I began my journey with Ceri not in windy Cardiff, where she was born, but in windy Cádiz, although somewhat sunnier, not to mention warmer, in the south west of Andalucia, Spain.

There she lives with her two kids, who are the centre of her universe at the moment. Proof of that is in the fact that whatever work Ceri takes on, it has to fit in around having fun with them.

This means that she currently writes more than she teaches, and she’s writing mostly materials for general English adult and teenage learners at the moment.

We duly left her two kids in good care, and stepped back in time to 1986, where we found ourselves in a city on a hillside. She showed me around the beautiful area of L’Aquila in Abruzzo where we walked through the maze of narrow streets until we ended up in an elegant piazza, where we stopped to have a cappuccino and a gelato.

Then, we journeyed on to Reading, where Dale, my previous interviewee, was born. When the winds broke our umbrellas, we decided to set off towards Madrid.

After a hot cortado, accompanied by a mantecado, we soaked in Goya & company, but when the flamenco got too mournful and it got too cold for my bones, I suggested moving on further south, and, by this time, Ceri was somewhat worried about her kids, so we found ourselves back in Cádiz again.

It was here where I left her, hugging and kissing her pride and joy, oblivious of my parting. Why don’t you join us in our short but enriching journey?

 

 

  Ceri’s blog: Close up

  Ceri’s Twitter handle: @cerirhiannon
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

For the geeks:

Ceri’s end:

Canon IXUS 95 IS

Chiew’s end:

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62
Quicktime Pro v7.7 (1680.34)
AVS Video Editor v5.2.0.169

   

About Chiew

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.

Posted on 24 December 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the lovely introduction Chiew 🙂
    I’d just like to add that I’d really love to travel back through those narrow streets of old town L’Aquila, but the earthquake that hit the town in 2009 has made that impossible. My heart goes out to all the families and my old friends who’ve lost the physical heart of their community but haven’t lost the soul.
    Thanks again, Chiew!

  2. Ceri you know do what you enjoy and enjoy what you do is great… Do you think there’s a certain pressure on EFL teachers to do the travelling thing and go see the world at the start of their careers? I did completely the opposite and sometimes I feel a yearning to pack up and just head off to some hidden corner of the world.

    After the wonderful things you said about Abruzzo I really will have to take a trip into the mountains east of Rome. It sounds well worth a visit.

    Dale

  3. Enjoyed listening to this fab interview very much, Chiew and Ceri. Thank you very much for organising it.

    Ceri, we have Madrid in common, as well as Abruzzo!! It was really interesting to hear about your experiences during your time in these fascinating places. The magnetic power of L’Aquila kept you there for a decade, so you must have had a great time there. I have been to L’Aquila twice on behalf of Tesol Italy – L’Aquila Action Group, since the earthquake, to give workshops to teachers of English, and both times were very enjoyable experiences as all the people I met were so welcoming. The restoration work is coming along, slowly but surely.

    We will definitely have to meet up if you come back to visit Abruzzo in the future!

    Thank you both for the kind mention during the interview 🙂

  4. Hi Dale, yes I think there is sometimes a feeling that there are so many different places you should (could?) be going to. I totally fell in love with Italy and Italian and worked at such a good school and was really happy there for ten years and don’t regret those ten years at all, but off and on I felt (was made to feel?) that I really should have moved on, seen the world a bit more, that I wasn’t making the most of my chances. Looking back I think I was really lucky, the chances were all around me (at the risk of sounding trite again! 😉 )

    And yes, do go to Abruzzo! I used to love the bus journey up from Rome through the tunnels as the road made its way up into mountains, the hils getting steeper, the medieval villages perched on the top. Hey, you’ve got me feeling all nostalgic ! 🙂 Maybe it’s time to plan a trip back myself.

    Hi Janet, thanks for the comment. So Madrid as well? I wonder what else we have in common 🙂 I’ve kept in touch with some good friends in L’Aquila, teachers as well as others, I guess we may have friends in common too.

    Have a great break both of you!

  5. Another great interview!
    It is really nice to be able to hear your voice Ceri, after reading your blog and seeing your photos!
    I agree wholeheartedly that everyone you meet influences you in some way. With someone like you, that carries over into blogoshpere as well! I was quite concerned there for a minute when Chiew asked you why you decided to blog – you left sharing with us other teachers for last! Phew – luckily you decided to blog!
    Chiew, having listened to quite a few interviews, I find it impressive how you tailor the questions to each guest!
    Naomi

    • Awww, thanks Naomi! 🙂 And I think I keep asking the same questions…

      Ceri has such a nice voice as well, doesn’t she? 🙂

    • Hi Naomi! Happy new year 🙂 I’m sorry it’s taken so long for me to get back to the comments, but family, friends and face-to-face fun took over for short while! And I totally agree with you about meeting people in the blogo/twittersphere – just as real, just as influential … like meeting you, dear Naomi, that had coloured and influenced my thoughts about teaching and learning and living and experiencing … it’s a great online world we share 🙂

  6. A great interview and I liked the fact that I could see you and hear you as a real person..as we’ve crossed lines on so many occasions on ELTchat! It’s good to know that there are other down to earth, working mums, who also care about their teaching! You are so calm and inspirational! I am so with you too as I live in a small village by the sea in Greece and adore my local community and the beauty of the place but with two kids entering teens..who knows where we will be in 10 years time!!

    • Hi Sharon! One of the things I’ve noticed about these interviews is how there are so many echoes, of lifestyles, thoughts, feelings, beginnings, twists and turns. And yes, where will we and our kids be in ten years’ time? Who knows but it’ll sure be interesting finding out! 🙂
      Happy 2012!

  7. Catching up on this a wee bit late. Doesn’t Ceri have the sweetest voice? Enjoyed hearing more about your path, Ceri and I agree ELT is a strange path, and we have to be a bit adventurous and see what crops up.

    Love these interviews, Chiew. Thanks!

    • Doesn’t she just, Brad? I’d missed your presence! I haven’t been too regular lately and I won’t give any excuses, but I hope you’ll have time for a couple that will be out soon…hopefully! 😉

  1. Pingback: Ceri Jones: A Brief Sojourn | Quality Video Interviews with Teachers Who Dare to be Different! | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Ceri Jones: A Brief Sojourn | Changing Discourse | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

